WEST 2024 Sponsorship and Branding Opportunities

AFCEA and the U.S. Naval Institute have developed an enhanced sponsorship program for WEST 2024 that will offer maximum visibility to those who participate! What better way to make sure you stand out and increase your exposure than at this foremost event in which industry leaders can learn about military requirements and connect with decision makers and operators, where senior military and government officials can gain feedback from sea service warfighters, and where industry thought leaders will discuss and demonstrate sea service solutions? Sponsorship opportunities are offered at a several investment levels, ensuring your ability to participate.

Browse available options below, or jump to specific categories: Patron Packages, Individual Sponsorships and Branding Opportunities.

Have an idea for a sponsorship not listed below? We are here to ensure you have the best conference experience. We are happy to create a custom sponsorship package to meet your specific needs. Let us know your vision, objective and budget and we’ll create a customized opportunity just for you.

The deadline to submit contracts and sponsor artwork is Friday, January 5th.

Awards at WEST 2024

Copernicus Award

About the Award:

The Copernicus Award was established in 1997 as a result of a discussion among Lieutenant General C. Norman Wood, USAF (Ret.), then President and CEO of AFCEA International, Captain James A. Barber, USN (Ret.), then Publisher and CEO of the U.S. Naval Institute, and the late Vice Admiral Art Cebrowski, USN, who was the Navy N6 at that time. The name for the award came from the Copernicus Architecture used as the blueprint for the future C4I structure of the Navy. Recipients are selected based on their sustained superior performance in a C4I/IT-related job. The board of judges make selections each year after reviewing active-duty and civilian applicants from the Navy, Marine Corps and Coast Guard. AFCEA International and the U.S. Naval Institute present the awards at their annual WEST Conference held in San Diego each winter. Click Here to read more.

Enlisted Superior Performer Award

About the Award:

The Enlisted Superior Performer (ESP) Award presented by the U.S. Naval Institute and AFCEA International recognizes the service of those military members who have been selected by their commands for particularly superior service in the past year. Recipients are awarded one-year memberships in both organizations.

Don’t miss this great opportunity to recognize your top performers and recognize them by bringing them to WEST 2024. Find out more about how to nominate your superior enlisted Sailors, Marines, and Coast Guardsmen for the 2024 ESP program at WEST. Nominations will be accepted through January 24, 2024. Click Here to read more.

Emerging Leaders Awards

About the Awards:

Individual Award: Distinguished Young Professional

The Distinguished Young Professional Award recognizes and rewards exceptional performance in four areas: leadership and guidance for the Emerging Leader program; superior technical achievement in the professional arena; a record of going "above and beyond" at the local AFCEA chapter or region level; and mentoring provided for other Emerging Leaders. Nominees for this award are evaluated through September of the current year. Click Here to read more.

Individual Award: Emerging Leadership

The Emerging Leadership Award is given for exceptional service to AFCEA at the local and/or international level. This award is presented to individuals who have demonstrated continuous leadership in Emerging Leader activities since winning the Distinguished Young AFCEAN or Distinguished Young Professional award. Nominees for this award are evaluated through September of the current year. Click Here to read more.

Emerging Leader Chapter of the Year Award

The Emerging Leader Chapter of the Year Award is given to the one chapter which has most significantly contributed to the professional development of Emerging Leaders by providing a forum of programs and initiatives geared to their unique needs. Chapters of similar size compete for this award and there are five different size categories. Click Here to read more.

Model Emerging Leader Program

The purpose of the Model Emerging Leader Program recognition is to strengthen the program of activities for Emerging Leaders at chapters, and to encourage chapters to create Emerging Leader programs if they do not already have one. The program will measure the strength, growth and activities of a chapter’s Emerging Leader program over the period of a full fiscal year. Click Here to read more.

U.S. Naval Institute Essay Contest Awards

About the Award:

The U.S. Naval Institute provides an independent forum for those who dare to read, think, speak, and write to advance the professional, literary, and scientific understanding of sea power and other issues critical to global security. Essay contests have been central to the work of the Naval Institute for more than 140 years. They directly fulfill the Institute’s educational mission by encouraging writing on issues of concern to the Sea Services. Each year, the Institute recognizes several essay contest winners at WEST.

2023 Essay Contest Winners

  2023 Enlisted Prize Essay Contest

Sponsored by USAA

The Enlisted Prize Essay Contest dared enlisted personnel in the Sea Services to write on a topic that makes the naval profession stronger. No subject is too large or too small.

First Prize:
Petty Officer First Class Jonathon Hall, USN
“Sleep and Safety: The Human Factors in Maritime Readiness”

Second Prize:
Seaman Julio C. Arredondo, USN
“A Safety Assessment from the Deckplates”

Third Prizes:
Petty Officer Third Class Alexandra Wirth, USCG
“Intentional and Invested: Good Leadership and Communication Prevent Mishaps"

  2023 Leadership Essay Contest

Sponsored by Dr. Jennifer London in Honor of Dr. Jack London

The Leadership Essay Contest focuses on the roles of leadership and character in the U.S. Sea Services from the perspective of today’s junior officers.

First Prize:
Lieutenant Benjamin Barsam, USN
“Why We Need Junior Officers”

Second Prize:
Lieutenant Andrew Ray, USCG and Lieutenant Kesley Gray, USCG
“Leadership, Not ‘Liker-ship’ Starts with Authenticity”

Third Prizes:
Major Lauran Serrano, USMC
“Aides Are More than Bag Carriers”

  2023 Marine Corps Essay Contest

Sponsored by U.S. Naval Institute

The Marine Corps Essay Contest challenged authors to advance new thinking about how the U.S. Marine Corps will tackle the diverse and difficult security challenges of the 21st century. Authors were encouraged to write about the toughest and most difficult issues—the topics everyone knows need addressing but some are hesitant to even acknowledge.

First Prize:
Lieutenant Colonel Brian Donlon, USMC
“Logistics 2030: Foraging is Not Going to Cut It”

Second Prize:
Colonel Pat Garrett, USMC (Ret.) and Lieutenant Colonel Frank Hoffman, USMCR (Ret.)
“Maneuver Warfare Is Not Dead, But It Must Evolve”

Third Prizes:
Captain Karl Flynn, USMC
“Make Every Marine a Drone Killer”

Women's Appreciation Award

About the Award:

This award recognizes and honors AFCEA International members of any gender who have gone above and beyond to further the careers of women. Contributions that support AFCEA International will be more heavily weighted than professional performance in the decision process. Winners are selected by members of the AFCEA International Women’s Awards Committee. The award will be presented at the annual Women in AFCEA Appreciation event held at WEST each year. Click Here to read more.